3.7.2.5 The Canadian Forces Communication Command (CFCC)

The CFCC maintains strategic communications for the Canadian Forces and, in emergencies, for the federal and provincial governments. The command also provides points for interconnecting strategic and tactical networks. CFCC also operates the major DND automatic data processing centres.

The 12 Canadian Forces Communication Command Militia Units are centred in: Vancouver, Edmonton and Calgary; Regina and Winnipeg; Toronto and Ottawa; Montreal and Quebec; and Saint John, Halifax and Charlottetown. Their tasks collectively include the augmentation of Canadian Forces Communication Command in an emergency, the provision of communications support to Mobile Command Militia in emergency operations (peace), the provision of instructors for the training of Mobile Command unit signalers, and the provision of communications support for control of Mobile Command Militia tactical exercises.

Canadian Forces Europe. The Canadian Forces allocated to support NATO in Europe consist of land and air elements. The land element is No. 4 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group operationally responsible to the Central Army Group. The air element, No. 1 Canadian Air Group, consisting of three CF-104 Starfighter squadrons, is operationally assigned to No. 4 Allied Tactical Air Force. These elements are located in the Baden-Baden area of the Federal Republic of Germany and are supported administratively by CFB Europe at Lahr.

Administration of military bases in Canada. Staffs and services required below Command Headquarters level to administer and support units based in a particular locality have been organized on Canadian Forces bases. Each base has been allocated to a functional commander to whom the base commander reports.

Function/regional organization. Functional commanders have been assigned a regional as well as a functional responsibility for representation to provincial governments, aid to the civil power, emergency and survival operations, administration of cadets, and provision of regional support services for all units in the region.

Canada has been divided into six regions with five of them assigned to functional commanders as follows: Atlantic (Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick) — Maritime Command; Eastern (Quebec) — Mobile Command; Central (Ontario) — Canadian Forces Training System; Prairie (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta) — Air Command; and Pacific (British Columbia) — Maritime Forces Pacific. One region, comprising the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, has been assigned to Commander Northern Region with headquarters in Yellowknife, NWT who also exercises a coordinating function for all military activities in the region.

3.7.3 Operations in 1975-76

Maritime air, surface and sub-surface forces participated in NATO exercises in the North Atlantic and in combined exercises with forces from New Zealand, Australia, Britain and the United States on both the Pacific and Atlantic coasts. Training exercises were conducted in the Bermuda, Caribbean and Southern California areas to maintain the Maritime Forces at an operational level. An exercise was also held in the Arctic to assess capabilities in northern waters.

Argus aircraft from both east and west coast squadrons maintained daily long-range patrols and surveillance of adjacent ocean areas and in the Arctic; many hours were also flown on search and rescue missions. Shore-based Tracker aircraft flew similar missions, concentrating on coastal patrols, fisheries protection and pollution prevention.

In fulfilment of obligations under NATO, Canada continued to provide ground and air forces for the defence of Western Europe as outlined in Section 3.6.2.6 Canada, NATO and NORAD.